We spent 4 nights there over the long weekend and it was stunning. The resort is spotless and well laid out with really nice big sites, so even when surrounded by other campers we did not feel closed in. Our site E3 was not level and had collapsed bricks on one side which was a pain as I kept forgetting the hole was there but most other paved sites seemed level. Grass sites did to on the inside blocks but the outside blocks were not and our original site A1 was tiny and horrible cause there was no flat part. 90% of the sites had lovely shade. Sites on the far end of the resort are the best in our opinion, although far away from the Pools/toilets and pretty much everything else you would have the most amazing views and the kids would have a HUGE amount of room to play.
Views around us in general were breathtaking and waking up to enjoy breakfast while looking at the mountains was lovely.
Big points from us for the supervision of the kiddy area which has a minder present at all times it's open and the cold pool was locked off so kids could not get near it. So excellent for parents with young kids. The hot pool (indoor) was lovely and set at 36 degrees for the whole time we were there so night time swims were lovely. The outside warm pools were nice but it was to cold to swim or enjoy them yet. Entertainment for the kids at the pool was well organised and my boys had a ball playing "minute to win it" and "Deal or no Deal" my eldest even won a prize of a Snakes and Ladders game which thrilled him.
The bathrooms are some of the best I have seen and regardless of if I went at 8am or 3am they were always clean. The one small thing for me was the fact that the Boiler Room is outdoors next to the bathrooms and while it made no difference during the day the sounds at night were so horribly loud. I was very very grateful we were not in the A or B blocks cause I would not have slept. 1 other negative was the Restaurant which I found very very dated and "unloved" everything was pretty and clean but situated where it is it has a neglected feel. Not once when we went past was there a single person inside. Not sure what the food is like but the fact that we never saw a soul there said enough for me.
The shop is very well stocked if a little expensive but their soft wood is horrible...WOW my hubby swore bullets at the wood and there is nowhere else close by to buy either. Take your own or use coals cause we went through 2 bags per Braai.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked a few extra days would we go back? Yes in winter cause there is nowhere else we found in the burg with a warm pool (a big thing for us) but in summer there are a lot of other place we found that knock the heck out of them. 7/10 for us.
Thanks very much for the information Sharon and glad you had a lovely stay.
Its on our list of resorts to visit.
What were the conditions of the roads and which route did you take?
Whoaaaa .......Sharon, seems like you had quite an ordeal. It was possibly one of the worst weekends to travel due to the snowfall. We'll have to plan a route that is conducive to a normal car and caravan cos a 4x4 we don't have.
Thanks for your response.